What is Kik?
Kik messenger, commonly known as Kik is a free, instant messaging service which allows users to contact others through the use of a username rather than telephone numbers or email addresses. Kik is used by people globally to contact one another and runs through a WIFI connection. Anyone who has your username is able to send you messages through the app.
Kik can be used to share messages, images and videos with one other person or a group of people. Groups of people can be created and made public for other people to join or request to join. Once accepted, they can communicate openly with all other members of the group.
A newer feature to Kik is the ability to send Gifs and video calls with the person you are talking to. Anyone can use the video call feature. To do so, just allow the app access to your camera and microphone.
How to deal with cyberbullying and abuse on Kik
Kik offers the options to block and/or report users to the platform administrators. If you are affected by cyberbullying or abuse on Kik, visit our Cyberbullying and Online Abuse Help Center or use our Global Support Service for support wherever you are in the world!
How to block a user on Kik
- To block a user, locate and select the settings button in the top left corner of your screen. It should look like a single cog.
- Once on your settings, select the ‘Privacy’ option.
- Once you have pressed the ‘Privacy’ button, you should be taken through to a page on the app where you’ll see something called a block list. This will show you all the people you have previously blocked. Select the ‘Block list’ button.
- In the top right corner of the screen there should be a ‘+’ button. Select it.
- Once you have selected the ‘+’ button, it will give you the option to block someone you have spoken to previously or type in the username of the user you would like to block.
- Once you have found the person you would like to block, press on their name.
- After selecting their name, a menu will pop up on your screen. The message will ask you to confirm that you want to block this user and will give a short explanation of what will happen once the user in blocked. If you still want to block this user, select the ‘Block’ button.
- Once you have blocked a user, it should be effective immediately.
Messages from the blocked person will be hidden and all conversations with the individual will be deleted. Also, when the blocked person tries to send you a message, they don’t know that they are blocked and their message is never delivered to you. However, previous conversations, your profile picture, as well as changes you make to it will still appear on the blocked person’s app.
How to report a user on Kik
- To report a user, go to the user’s profile.
- Locate and select the button which looks like 3 vertical dots. This button should be in the top left corner of the screen.
- Once selected, a menu should appear on the screen. On this menu, there should be an option to ‘report user’. Select it.
- When you have selected the ‘Report user’ button, a following menu should pop up on the screen. On this menu, it will ask you why you are reporting this user. This is asked so the platform can deal with the issue accordingly. Select what you think most identifies with the reason you want to report this user.