What is Pinterest?
Pinterest is a social media and photo sharing website where account holders can browse images uploaded by other users and add photos themselves. When users upload images, they are organized into categories and users can add captions to them. Each user has a profile within which they can create ‘boards’ to pin certain images to. Boards are usually created around certain themes such as hairstyles, cars and/or photography however, users are able to use their profile however they want to.
Some examples suggested by Pinterest include using boards to create wish lists, collect ideas for a specific event or simply gather inspirational imagery. Users are able to follow one another or specific boards. Once followed, images from the user or board followed will appear in the users’ ‘feed’ where people can ‘like’ and/or ‘re-pin’ the images.
The platform has a tailored search function that allows members to search for personal interests and topics that they are most interested by. Users are able to use a ‘re-pinning’ tool to place images uploaded by another user in their own board. When a user does this, they have the option to add their own comments to the image.
Age restrictions on Pinterest
Pinterest indicates that their service may not be used by anyone under the age of 13. Pinterest is very popular, particularly in the United States.
How to block and report a user on Pinterest
On Pinterest, although there isn’t an option to block and report a user separately, you can block by using the reporting tool within the site.
- To block and report, go to the user’s profile.
- Once on the user’s profile, locate the ‘…’ button and select it. This button should be positioned next to the follow button towards the top right corner of the profile.
- When you have selected the ‘…’ button, a drop-down menu should appear. Once it has dropped down, select the ‘Report’ button.
- Once you have selected the ‘Report’ button, a pop-up should appear on the screen. In this pop-up it should explain what happens once you have blocked and reported the account. If you still want to proceed, select the ‘Block’ button.
What happens when you block a user on Pinterest?
- The person you block can’t follow you or interact with your Pins.
- You can’t follow this person or interact with their Pins.
- Both you and the other person can’t like, Pin or comment on each other’s Pins.
- Any previous follows between you and the person are automatically removed.
- Any previous comments between you and the person are automatically removed.
- Any previous likes and/or Pins between you and the person aren’t automatically removed. You can unlike Pins to remove them individually.
- All other interactions are blocked.
How to report a Pin on Pinterest
- To report a pin while the image is smaller on your ‘feed’ locate and select the ‘…’ button in the bottom right corner of the post.
- Once you have selected the ‘…’ button, a drop-down menu will appear. Locate and select the ‘Report’ button.
- When you have selected the ‘Report’ button, a pop-up will appear on the screen and it will ask you to choose a reason as to why you are reporting the post. Click on the reason you think best identifies with why you are reporting the pin.
- Select the ‘Next’ button.
- Once you have selected the ‘Next’ button, a new pop-up will appear asking you to tell Pinterest a bit more. Select your answer.